Did You Know?

  • Kenya education system provides eight years of primary, four years of secondary and four years of university education. This is referred to as the 8-4-4 system of education.
  • There are 30 universities in Kenya, 7 of which are public and 23 private. The University of Nairobi is the oldest university in Kenya.
  • English and Swahili are the official languages of Kenya.
  • Swahili serves as a national, or official language, of five nations:  Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, The Comoros, and The Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • Some Swahili vocabulary is derived from Arabic. It has also incorporated Persian, German, Portuguese, English, and French words into its vocabulary through contact during the past five centuries.
  • There are 42 tribes in Kenya
  • The indigenous tribes of Kenya fall into three ethnic groups: the Bantus, the Cushites and the Nilotes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.